1982 Soccer World Cup Poster, Elche

Date: 1982
Size:  23 x 35 inches
Notes: Poster
Artist: Jiri Kolar

About The Poster: A wonderful poster from a series of 15 which were produced by various artists for the 1982 Soccer World Cup, which was held in Spain. It was in 1982 that for the first time, the World Cup finals expanded from 16 to 24 teams. This allowed more teams, including those from Algeria, Cameroon, Honduras, Kuwait and New Zealand to participate for the first time.  

Soccer afficionados will know that in 1982 Italy became the first team to advance from the first round without winning a game, drawing all three, and also the only World Cup winner to draw or lose three matches at the Finals. By winning, Italy equalled Brazil's record of winning the World Cup three times. Italy's total of twelve goals scored in seven matches set a new low for average goals scored per game by a World Cup winning side (subsequently exceeded by Spain in 2010), while Italy's aggregate goal difference of +6 for the tournament remains a record low for a champion, equalled by Spain. This was the first World Cup in which teams from all six continental confederations participated in the finals, something that would not happen again until 2006.